Winter Online 2022


The MCO presents its Winter Series online & completely free

In February and March, the MCO presents its Winter Series, four free online concerts, via YouTube. They feature many of Manitoba’s most cherished musicians and several incredible new Canadian works, some of which are sure to change the Canadian repertoire forever. These concerts are being captured—by filmmaker Ivan Hughes, sound engineer Dan Donahue, recording producer Boyd MacKenzie, and their technical teams—in rich, vivid detail at the West End Cultural Centre, No Fun Club Studios, and Lorne Watson Auditorium at Brandon University. It’s difficult to convey how much we’d like to also present these concerts in-person, as we did with our Fall Series. But we feel it’s our responsibility to postpone in-person MCO events a little longer. We also feel it’s our responsibility to share these wonderful concerts to the public completely free—a thank-you for audiences’ patience and a way of maximizing these concerts’ impact. While physical distancing is still necessary, “social distancing” (an unfortunate catchphrase) is less so: shared cultural experiences are vital to undoing the pandemic’s damage to community, and to this end we are immensely lucky for the talented creative teams behind our virtual concerts.

By the way: the MCO’s eight-concert Spring Series, at Westminster Church, begins in March and features some of Canada’s greatest soloists. If all goes as planned, every spring concert will include in-person options on top of online options. In the meantime, the MCO’s “hybridity” leans towards the virtual with the benefit that more Winnipeggers and more Canadians will enjoy our free and excellent Spring Series. We hope that you, Manitoba’s press, will further our Spring Series’ impact, and support Canadian composers and musicians, by sharing word of it.

Access to these concerts will become available on this page. They will remain available for a full year after their premiere.

Winter Songs
7.30pm, Thursday, February 10

Featuring Viđarneisti (Cathy Wood (clarinet) and Victoria Sparks (percussion)); performing Into Dreams (Kenley Kristofferson) Winter Songs (Sid Robinovitch), A Colour Undiminished (Christopher Byman), and Tvísöngur (Fjòla Evans).

7.30pm, Thursday, February 17

Featuring Rachel Kristenson (Violin), Momoko Matsumura (Viola and Violin), and Minna Rose Chung (cello), performing Divertimento K. 563 (WA Mozart), Trio Op. 9-2 (Beethoven) Duet for Violin and Cello (Reinhold Glière) & Oblivion (Astor Piazzolla).


Ludwig van Beethoven / Trio Op. 9-2

  1. Adagio – Allegro con brio
  2. Adagio ma non tanto e cantabile
  3. Scherzo – Allegro
  4. Presto

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart / Divertimento K. 563

  1. Allegro (first movement)

Rachel Kristenson, violin; Momoko Matsumura, viola; Minna Rose Chung, cello

Reinhold Glière / Huit Morceaux, Duet for Violin and Cello (Selections)

  1. Prélude – Andante
  2. Gavotte – Allegretto
  3. Berceuse – Tranquillo
  4. Intermezzo – Andantino
  5. Impromptu – Poco animato
  6. Scherzo – Vivace

Momoko Matsumura, violin; Minna Rose Chung, cello

Astor Piazzolla / Oblivion (based on an arrangement by Nawfel Djari)

Rachel Kristenson, violin; Momoko Matsumura, viola; Minna Rose Chung, cello

Goldberg Variations
7.30pm, Friday, March 4

Featuring Caitlin Broms-Jacobs (oboe), Tracy Wright (oboe and English horn), Allen Harrington (bassoon), Momoko Matsumura (violin), Minna Rose Chung (cello), Laura Loewen (harpsichord); performing Goldberg Variations, for reed trio (JS Bach, arr. Caitlin Broms-Jacobs), Trio Sonatas (Giovanni Legrenzi), Fugue in Eb major, ‘St. Anne’s Fugue’ (JS Bach), and more.

Click for 2021/22 subscription packages!