Manitoba Chamber Orchestra


MCO tour de force concert
—New Concerto Project showcase

The Manitoba Chamber Orchestra is “Canada’s tiny, perfect chamber orchestra” (Toronto Star). We say it often in our communications, and from time to time we can’t resist shining a spotlight directly on the esteemed orchestral musicians who play with the MCO.

In this tour de force concert we do just that, with blistering solos from many of our players. So, if the MCO’s concert experiences generally exist comfortably somewhere between the salon and the concert hall, this concert leans more towards the former. It will be an intimate affair in the marvellous setting of Westminster United Church.

Much could be said about the quirky form of Haydn’s 45th Symphony. But perhaps the quirkiest thing of all is what inspired its composition. Haydn and his gang of musicians had been cooped up for much longer than expected in Prince Esterhazy’s summer home, and were dying to go home and see their families. Rather than appeal directly to the Prince for sabbatical, Haydn implanted the request in the music itself. During the final movement, each musician puts down their instrument, blows out the candle on their music stand, and leaves the stage in turn. The Prince took the hint, as the next morning the musicians woke up to discover carriages waiting to deliver them home.

Our March concert also includes a Mozart symphony as well as two new works, commissioned by the MCO from Kevin Lau and Vivian Fung.

The New Concerto Project

Starting as an ongoing project in 2018, the Manitoba Chamber Orchestra has been commissioning some of the most promising Canadian composers to write brand new concertos for orchestra. At this concert, we premiere a double violin concerto by the brilliant JUNO Award winner Vivian Fung, whose music is celebrated for integrating non-Western folk music, Tibetan chant, and Brazilian rhythms.

We also premiere a new work by Kevin Lau, a prolific composer of orchestral, chamber, ballet, and film music, who studied with composer Christos Hatzis, a long-time MCO collaborator.

Evening concert at 7:30 pm; hour-long matinee concert at 1:00 pm; both concerts on March 19th at Westminster United Church, 745 Westminster at Maryland. Tickets, at $35 for adults, $33 for seniors and $15 for students and those under-30 (incl. GST), will be available 28 July 2018, at McNally Robinson, the West End Cultural Centre (586 Ellice at Sherbrook), Organic Planet (877 Westminster Ave) or MCO’s Ticketline (204-783-7377).

After July 28th, click above to add ticket to cart; adjust quantity in cart; click ‘Continue Shopping’ for other tickets.

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
Anne Manson, Music Director
Karl Stobbe, Concertmaster
Westminster United Church
19 March 2019

Members of the MCO

Vivian Fung
New work for two solo violins and strings

Joseph Haydn
Symphony No. 45

Kevin Lau
New work for chamber orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony No. 29

Please note that our one-hour 1:00 pm matinees have a slightly shorter program and no intermission.

Coming soon!

Coming soon!