Anne Manson, Colin Carr


Anne Manson
& cello celebrity Colin Carr

How lucky we are. For the past few years, cellist Colin Carr has made occasional visits to the Canadian prairies in between performing for packed houses in Europe alongside the likes of Sir Simon Rattle and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. He joins the MCO for our season-opening concert, starting 2018/19 with a bang.

Carr’s concerts here are received with great fanfare, with the Winnipeg Free Press noting his consistent ability to inspire “roaring standing ovations” and the Calgary Herald gushing that Carr delivers “some of the most memorable performances we will ever likely hear in this part of the world.” A player of powerful conviction and rare virtuosity, he has become something of a celebrity among Winnipeg music-lovers.

Not one to shy away from the blockbusters of the cello repertoire, Carr delivered a riveting sold-out performance of Schumann’s Cello Concerto in A Minor at a sold out MCO concert a couple seasons back. He’s selected a cello concerto of equal stature for this concert: Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1, widely regarded as one of the most technically difficult pieces for the instrument.

Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1

From its driving use of his famous DSCH motif in its opening to its frenzied finale, Shostakovich’s first cello concerto is a work of intense drama whose suspense is increased by its interceding slow movements. But this is no showpiece. Rather, it’s a work of incredible depth peppered with the political allusions that helped make this restless Soviet composer an object of fascination for scholars — and one of suspicion for Soviet authorities.

The concert begins at 7:30 pm on September 12th in Westminster United Church, 745 Westminster at Maryland. Tickets, at $35 for adults, $33 for seniors and $15 for students and those under-30 (incl. GST), will be available 28 July 2018, at McNally Robinson, the West End Cultural Centre (586 Ellice at Sherbrook), Organic Planet (877 Westminster Ave) or MCO’s Ticketline (204-783-7377).

Click above to add ticket to cart; adjust quantity in cart; click ‘Continue Shopping’ for other tickets.

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
Anne Manson, Music Director
Karl Stobbe, Concertmaster
Westminster United Church
12 September 2018

Anne Manson, conductor
Colin Carr, cello


Ralph Vaughan Williams
The Charterhouse Suite, for strings

Dmitri Shostakovich
Cello Concerto No. 1, in E-flat Major, Op. 107

Leoš Janáček
Idyll, for string orchestra, JW 6/3

Concert sponsor / Wawanesa Insurance

Coming soon!

Coming soon!