Lizzy Hoyt



LIZZY HOYT IS AN EXTRAORDINARY mezzo-soprano and Celtic songwriter, a powerhouse in the Canadian folk and classical worlds alike.

On an operatic performance, Opera Canada writes, “Her deeply felt performance infused the entire production with aching humanity” while Bluegrass Unlimited gushes about her “sweet and angelic” and “mournful” delivery in her folk performances. At this concert, Hoyt performs a new work by our composer-in-residence Kevin Lau, one of Canada’s brightest young composers.

• Buy 7.30pm Mar 2nd in-person ticket (incl. online) | $36 Adult | $34 Senior | $15 Under-30
• Buy Mar 2nd concert online-only ticket | $25 Household ticket

Like Lizzy, Kevin is an artist for whom the boundary between popular and concert music is more often something to be stepped over than observed. It sounds as though Kevin may be composing a work for this concert that allows Lizzy to shine as both folk and operatic singer. No matter what path this collaboration takes we know the destination will be a spectacular, vital new Canadian work.

In that connection, this concert also features reprise performances of works proudly commissioned by the MCO: Jeffrey Ryan’s gorgeous Earthshine (2017) and Karen Sunabacka’s poignant Never to Return (2013). We’ve premiered some excellent pieces over the years, if we may say so, and with works this strong, a second, third, or tenth performance still feels like a true event. An inspiring start to our 2023 Spring Series.

The concert begins at 7.30pm on Thursday, March 2nd, in Westminster United Church, 745 Westminster at Maryland. Casual tickets will be available 10 August 2022 here and on MCO’s Ticketline at 204-783-7377.

Click for 2022/23 subscription packages!

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
Anne Manson, Music Director
Karl Stobbe, Concertmaster
Westminster Church in Wolseley
7.30pm, Thursday, 2 March 2023
Online presentation 22 June 2023

Details coming soon!

Coming soon!

Coming soon!