AN MCO CONCERT WITH PIANIST MARC-ANDRÉ HAMELIN is unlike any other. Before the show, the anticipation that builds until Hamelin appears is electric. He mounts the stage and is welcomed rock star style. Then, the real excitement begins.

• Please note that this concert is in-person only
• Buy 7.30pm May 23rd in-person ticket | $36 Adult | $34 Senior | $15 Under-30

Hamelin began to play the piano at the age of five, and by the age of nine had already won top prize in the Canadian Music Competition. Today, he’s touted as one of the world’s greatest living pianists. In the words of famous music critic Alex Ross, his hands are “among the wonders of the musical world” (The New Yorker).

To our great fortune, he’s been playing with the MCO regularly since 1991 — with a pause of four years since his last performance which we know has left audiences impatient for his smashing return. At this concert the master performs Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 9. Alfred Brendel has called it “one of the greatest wonders of the world,” while Alfred Einstein hailed it as “Mozart’s Eroica.”

Wonder upon wonder. We’ll see you at the concert. 😀

The concert begins at 7.30pm on Tuesday, May 23rd, in Westminster United Church, 745 Westminster at Maryland. Casual tickets will be available 10 August 2022 here and on MCO’s Ticketline at 204-783-7377.

Click for 2022/23 subscription packages!

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
Anne Manson, Music Director
Karl Stobbe, Concertmaster
Westminster Church in Wolseley
7.30pm, Tuesday, 23 May 2023

Details coming soon!

Coming soon!

Coming soon!