Dinuk Wijeratne


Dinuk Wijeratne:
a Modern Polymath

Dinuk Wijeratne is one of Canada’s most sought-after classical artists.

The “exuberantly creative’ (New York Times) JUNO award-winner made his Carnegie Hall debut in 2004 as a composer, conductor, and pianist. He’ll brandish this triple-threat at this concert, conducting a number of masterworks and then setting down his baton to premiere, as a soloist, a gorgeous new piano concerto of his own inspired creation.

And then there are the megahits on the program. First up is Mozart’s Divertimento K137. Composed when Mozart was only 16 and trapped in a stifling work climate, the Divertimento—a typically light-hearted form whose name literally means ‘to amuse’—shouldn’t be a masterpiece. Yet it is. As always, Mozart finds profundity in levity, displaying the grace, elegance, humour, and exquisite beauty we associate with his more mature work.

There’s also Bartók’s Rumanian Folk Dances, a favourite of the MCO, and Grieg’s Holberg Suite, which many critics view as superior even to Grieg’s incidental music from Peer Gynt. That Wijeratne conducts these pieces while also soloing and composing for this concert is the sort of magic show that moves Chronicle Herald to exclaim, “Dinuk Wijeratne continues to astonish us.” A sentiment we share.

Dinuk Wijeratne

Praised by the CBC as an artist “internationally respected for his virtuosity and sensitivity as a musician”, Sri Lankan-born Dinuk Wijeratne is one of Canada’s most eclectic talents … He is the recipient of the 2008 Canada Council Jean-Marie Beaudet award for orchestral conducting; double Merritt Award nominations; Juilliard and Mannes scholarships; two Countess of Munster composition grants; the Sema Jazz Improvisation Prize; the Soroptimist International Award for Composer-Conductors; and the Sir John Manduell Prize—the RNCM’s highest student honor.”

—Canadian Music Centre

The concert begins at 7.30pm on October 30th in Westminster United Church, 745 Westminster at Maryland. Tickets, at $36 for adults, $34 for seniors and $15 for students and those under-30 (incl. GST), are available at McNally Robinson, Organic Planet (877 Westminster Ave), and on MCO’s Ticketline at 204-783-7377.

After July 29th, click above to add ticket to cart; adjust quantity in cart; click ‘Continue Shopping’ for other tickets.

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
Anne Manson, Music Director
Karl Stobbe, Concertmaster
Westminster United Church
30 October 2019

Dinuk Wijeratne

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Divertimento in B-flat Major (K137/125b)

Bela Bartók
Rumanian Folk Dances

Dinuk Wijeratne
New composition

Dinuk Wijeratne
The Poetry of Squares

John Corigliano
Voyage (from L'Invitation au Voyage, 1971)

Edvard Grieg
Holberg Suite, Op. 40

Concert sponsor / Pollard Banknote Ltd.

Coming soon!

Coming soon!