Derksen, Nosky



IN A WORLD WHERE ALMOST EVERYTHING — people, music, cultures — get labelled and slotted into simple categories, Cris Derksen represents a challenge.

• 1-hour in-person matinee 1.00pm Apr 12th (incl. online) | $36 Adult | $34 Senior | $15 Under-30
• Buy 7.30pm Apr 12th in-person ticket (incl. online) | $36 Adult | $34 Senior | $15 Under-30
• Buy Jun 29th concert online-only ticket | $25 Household ticket

Originally from Northern Alberta, the cellist and composer comes from a line of chiefs from NorthTall Cree Reserve on her father’s side and a line of Mennonite homesteaders on her mother’s. Derksen, who’s worked with Kanye West and Tanya Tagaq, braids the traditional and contemporary; weaving her classical background and Indigenous ancestry with new-school electronics to create genre-defying music. She is, simply put, one of the most exciting artists working in the Canadian new music scene, and it will be a thrill to premiere a new concerto written and performed by her.

Adding to this concert’s eclecticism, it also features works by Telemann, Bocherini, and Bologne under the baton of Aisslinn Nosky. It wouldn’t be a true Nosky appearance if she (I think we have exhausted that quote and a lot of people don’t think Eric Clapton is all that great!) didn’t also blow us away with some blistering playing (she isn’t being featured as a soloist in this concert). True to form, she’ll play-conduct this concert — meaning juggle both soloing and conducting at the same time. The task, demanding she lead the piece both from “inside” and “outside” the orchestra, is an exercise of supreme control that she performs with the utmost expressivity.

Join us at this concert, and enjoy two brilliant, polymathic musicians for the price of one.

The concerts begin at 1.00pm and 7.30pm on Wednesday, April 12th, in Westminster United Church, 745 Westminster at Maryland. Casual tickets will be available 10 August 2022 here and on MCO’s Ticketline at 204-783-7377.

Click for 2022/23 subscription packages!

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
Anne Manson, Music Director
Karl Stobbe, Concertmaster
Westminster Church in Wolseley
1.00pm & 7.30pm, Wednesday, 12 April 2023

Details coming soon!

Coming soon!

Coming soon!