Douglas Boyd, Simone Dinnerstein


Simone Dinnerstein:
Art of the Baroque

The Philadelphia Inquirer calls Simone Dinnerstein one of “the great Beethoven pianists of our time.” This is high praise and well deserved, but it’s perhaps more accurate to refer to her simply as one of America’s greatest living pianists.

MCO audiences are getting to know her on increasingly intimate terms, after she delivered a passionate premiere of Glass’s Piano Concerto No. 3 with the MCO in 2018. It’s a testament to Simone’s rare talent that it was for her that Glass composed the concerto (co-commissioned by the MCO).

Reportedly, it was Dinnerstein’s famous mastery and love of Bach to which Glass was drawn. She gave us a taste of this in her 2018 concert, when she performed BWV 1058. She continues in this vein at her 2019 concert, playing Bach’s keyboard concertos BWV 1052 & BWV 1053. If those figures don’t mean much to you, we suspect you’ll recognize the works’ melodies—or will never forget them after Simone’s exquisite renderings.

While so much of Bach’s music was used to serenade and ceremonially present forgotten nobles, his keyboard concertos announce himself as the most enduring ruler of the Baroque era. No superlative has gone unused in critics’ rhapsodic commentaries on these works. Suffice to say they are really, really, really good.

One of Manitoba’s richest Baroque-centric concerts of 2019, with the illustrious Douglas Boyd conducting.

Douglas Boyd

One of Chamber Orchestra of Europe’s founding members, Boyd’s fame rested initially on his spectacular gifts as an oboist. Over a decade ago he transitioned to conducting, in which capacity he became the Orchestre de chambre de Paris’s music director. About this diversely gifted artist, the Sunday Telegraph writes, “He is one of the major British occupants of a rostrum today and will be increasingly recognised as such.”

The concert begins at 7.30pm on November 13th in Westminster United Church, 745 Westminster at Maryland. Tickets, at $36 for adults, $34 for seniors and $15 for students and those under-30 (incl. GST), are available at McNally Robinson, Organic Planet (877 Westminster Ave), and on MCO’s Ticketline at 204-783-7377.

After July 29th, click above to add ticket to cart; adjust quantity in cart; click ‘Continue Shopping’ for other tickets.

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra
Anne Manson, Music Director
Karl Stobbe, Concertmaster
Westminster United Church
13 November 2019

Douglas Boyd, conductor
Simone Dinnerstein, piano

Arcangelo Corelli
Concerto Grosso, Op. 6, No. 2

Michael Tippett
Fantasia Concertante on a Theme of Corelli

Johann Sebastian Bach
Concerto No. 2 in E Major (BWV 1053)

Edward Elgar
Introduction and Allegro

Johann Sebastian Bach
Harpsichord Concerto No. 1 in D Minor (BWV 1052)

Guest Artist Sponsor / The Asper Foundation
Concertmaster Sponsor / Raymond Hébert

Coming soon!

Coming soon!